Curvy Barbie vs Original Barbie

20170101_223449

My new Curvy Barbie, Charlie! 

Ever since Mattel announced that they were going to be making Curvy Barbie dolls, I knew I had to have one.

Now, while I do not ‘collect’ Barbies anymore, I found that with the new body types my interest was picking back up again.

I wanted to wait to post about the differences between Curvy and Original Barbie until I had received some custom made clothes for my Curvy Charlie, but I have not yet received them and really wanted to share this review with you all!

img_20170103_081709_582

As you can see, Curvy Barbie has fuller thighs and hips than your traditional Barbie doll. Here is a side by side comparison:

img_20170105_085723_944

Viewing from the side, you can see the Curvy Charlie has a much fuller bottom than Original Barbie, a.k.a. Kitty, and she also has a nice, more natural looking ‘tummy’. From the front you can see that her hips are wider and her thighs are thicker than Original Kitty’s.

2017-01-05-09-02-46

Here is the back view! Curvy Charlie has such a cute, round bottom, as compared to Original’s.

Because of the difference in size, most Original Barbie clothes will not fit Curvy. Tops/shirts will fit, but bottoms such as skirts and pants are the issue here. I’ve found a couple Original Barbie skirts that slip over Charlie’s wider hips, but not many. That’s why I had to order custom clothes from Etsy.

What do you think of Curvy Barbie? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments section below!

One thought on “Curvy Barbie vs Original Barbie

  1. Tee hee…I bought one too last summer; it’s my souvenir from Calgary AB. I myself am very curvy. So she is realistic. However I’m so glad I didn’t have realistic dolls when I was growing up, as I escaped into a true fantasy world. No one had curves in that world!

Leave a Reply

